Super Awesome Anti Copybot System

And the award for super sarcastic title goes to….. THIS BLOG POST!

I don’t know if anyone has heard of ZF Redzone, and I realise I’m a little late jumping on the hatewagon if you do, this revolutionary anti theft device that targets people with viewers not on the TPV list and bans the fuck out of them. Fandabbydozy you think, except I went to [Random Furniture Shop] today using my preferred viewer (the latest version of Imprudence) and it banned the crap out of me. Actually it did go one better, spam teleporting my av and eventually forcing an angry task manager shutdown. Excitingly they not only ban you, they ban all your alts, any alt you even think about making, your grandmother and her dog too. Just to be on the safe side. Alllsooooo they can (although they said they didn’t) ban you from the estates of the 8041 other ZF Redzone protected locations, so that’s super fun!

All exciting chat log, no screenies unfortunately. Sorry!

IM: zF RedZone v4.0.8: The land owner has chosen to remove you for using a viewer that is not currently known to the zF RedZone.  This is not a grid ban and may not be appealed.

You have been teleported home by the object ‘Estate Ban’ on the parcel ‘[Random Furniture Shop]’.
Teleport completed from [Random Furniture Shop]
Connecting to in-world Voice Chat…
Connected
You have been teleported home by the object ‘Estate Ban’ on the parcel ‘[Random Furniture Shop]’.
You have been teleported home by the object ‘Estate Ban’ on the parcel ‘[Random Furniture Shop]’.
You have been teleported home by the object ‘Estate Ban’ on the parcel ‘[Random Furniture Shop]’.
You have been teleported home by the object ‘zF RedZone v4.0.8’ on the parcel ‘[Random Furniture Shop]’.
You have been teleported home by the object ‘Estate Ban’ on the parcel ‘[Random Furniture Shop]’.

They didn’t actually tp me home with the first 40 attempts but they made up for that by hitting me with another 50 gazillion when I was at home forcing the TM smackdown.

So yes, while I’m all for stopping theft I rather feel like ZF Redzone is going a leeetle bit too far and also, intrusive much? While I’m quite happy for LL to have every single bit of info about me (right down to blood type and shoe size) I’m not so happy for the people with the retina burning website to have it. Also, I’m not entirely sure what they’re using because I got banned after Tie did (we’re running the same IP) but then any alts I went with subsequently were banned from even teleporting in.

So yeah, anyway. I’m a copybotter, woo.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

